Recent reads

October 21, 2015 § Leave a comment

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?

I haven’t seen Blade Runner and I had no idea it was based on this book. But the book is fantastic, so I may watch the movie too. What I like most is that we are gradually fed more information about the nature of the world that Rick inhabits, and this is done cleverly by using two different narratives (of two characters that occupy very different positions in the society) which in a way, come together at the end. Mercerism, I still don’t entirely understand, but this is the kind of book where your understanding (and appreciation) is a work-in-progress. My favourite scene was the Police Station scene.

An Abundance of Katherines

I also finally read a John Green novel, An Abundance of Katherines, which I did not like (unfortunately). Perhaps I should have started with Green’s best work – The Fault in Our Stars, but what if it was really good and left me with the disappointing realisation that no other Green book will be as good? Such are the dilemmas that I face. What I didn’t like most was the character of Hassan, which I thought lacked depth and was only used to provide a contrast point to Colin, the protagonist. I also didn’t like the pace of the story – there was no real plot, which is usually fine in books like these because they tend to focus more on character development. However, I felt like there was not enough genuine character development, a series of incidents occur and Colin makes changes to his relationship equation and we are lead to believe that Colin has grown up a bit. But I didn’t feel any organic change, I felt like I was being told that Colin had come of age, but I didn’t see it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recent reads at Licensed to Pen.

meta

